Athletics Overview

Heicke Russell, Athletic Director
Russ Heicke, Athletic Director

E-mail Address:  

Phone Number:  (562) 869-7306 x5806

Athletic Forms and Links

Visit this website for Athletic Clearance

Preparticipation Physical Evaluation Form
Extra-Curricular Eligibility Waiver Student Application
Student Accident Insurance Application
Student Accident Insurance Application – Spanish

See our latest Athletic Newsletter here

Expectations of our Student Athletes

As a Warren High School student athlete you are required to represent, uphold, and practice the principles of Victory with Honor. This program is based on the “Six Pillars of Character” of the Character Counts Program that is practiced district wide. As part of the Bear athletic team you will be required to maintain a minimum G.P.A of 2.0 and be looked as a model of student discipline. You will be asked to participate in fundraising efforts on campus and in the local community. The effort of the coaches is to instill and nurture the concepts of responsibility, discipline and teamwork in each student athlete.

Sports, Coaches and E-Mails
FALL SPORTS (September to November)
Boys Cross Country Ramon Ramirez championshipyear@msn.com
Girls Cross Country Jay Waldron jwaldron@dusd.net
Football Raul Lara raul3lara@aol.com
Girls Golf Tina Schmid tschmid@dusd.net
Girls Tennis Mary Starksen mstarksen@dusd.net
Girls Volleyball Scott Lane slane@dusd.net
Boys Water Polo Jarrett Powers jpowers@dusd.net
WINTER SPORTS (November to February)
Boys Basketball Chris Morrison cmorrison@dusd.net
Girls Basketball Rachel Palmer rpalmer@dusd.net
Boys Soccer Miguel Pena efcsoccer88@gmail.com
Girls Soccer Liliana Dussan ldussan@dusd.net
Girls Water Polo Stephanie Rosero s_rosero13@outlook.com
Wrestling Tim Brogden tbrogden@dusd.net
SPRING SPORTS (February to May)
Baseball Scott Pearson spearson@dusd.net
Boys Golf Tina Schmid tschmid@dusd.net
Softball Mary Starksen mstarksen@dusd.net
Boys Swimming Jarrett Powers  jpowers@dusd.net
Girls Swimming Stephanie Rosero s_rosero13@outlook.com
Boys Tennis Conrad Del Rosario cdelrosario@dusd.net
Boys Track and Field Ramon Ramirez championshipyear@msn.com
Girls Track and Field Jay Waldron jwaldron@dusd.net
Boys Volleyball Scott Lane slane@dusd.net

Download a copy of the 2014-2016 Competitive Athletics EC 221.9

Athlete Eligibility

  • 2.0 Grade Point Average
  • ASB Card
  • Physical Exam required for athletic participation
  • Insurance Coverage Required (available for purchase through school)
  • CIF Code of Ethics Form

League Representation

Our athletic programs are part of the San Gabriel Valley  League which consists of the following six schools:

  • Warren High School Bears
  • Dominguez High School Dons
  • Gahr High School Gladiators
  • Lynwood High School Knights
  • Paramount High School Pirates
  • Downey High School VIkings

NCAA Division I Academic Eligibility

  • 4 years of English
  • 3 years of Math (Algebra I or higher)
  • 2 years of Natural / Physical Science (1 year of lab if offered)
  • 1 year additional English, Math, or Natural / Physical Science
  • 2 years of Social Science
  • 4 years of additional courses (From any area above, foreign  language, or non-doctrinal religion/philosophy)

For information visit the NCAA Website

Community Involvement

Many of our student athletes participate in community events  encouraged and organized by their coaches. A few examples of this are:

  • Girls’ Softball – Christmas Visit to Miller’s Children Hospital
  • Girls’ Basketball – Basketball Clinic at Imperial Elementary School
  • Girls’ Volleyball – Susan G  Komen for the Cure
  • Boys’ Volleyball – Adopt a Street Program City of Downey

Tryout Times

The following sports are offered during the Fall Season,  from the months of August through November. Their tryout period begins during  the summer preceding the school year. For more specific dates and times  regarding tryout opportunities please contact the coach of the sport you are  interested in.

  • Girls’ Volleyball
  • Football
  • Cross Country (Boys’ and Girls’)
  • Girls’ Tennis
  • Boys’ Waterpolo

The winter and spring sports tryouts are based on facility  availability and are typically held in the first four weeks of the school year.  These tryout opportunities are subject to change and it is best to contact the  coach of the sport that you are interested in.

Summer Programs

  • Baseball
  • Boys’ Basketball
  • Boys’ Cross Country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Girls’ Basketball
  • Girls’ Cross Country
  • Girls’ Tennis
  • Girls’ Volleyball

**Warren High School does not and shall not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion (creed), gender, gender expression, age, national origin (ancestry), disability, marital status, sexual orientation, or military status, in any of its activities or operations.**