Athletics Overview

Mark Rand, Athletic Director
Mark Rand, Athletic Director

E-mail Address:  mrand@dusd.net
Phone Number:  (562) 869-7301 x5489

Athletic Forms and Links

Online Athletic Clearance Directions

Preparticipation Physical Evaluation Form 18-19

Extra-Curricular Eligibility Waiver Student Application

Student Accident Insurance Application

Student Accident Insurance Application-Spanish

DUSD Title IX Information

Expectations of our Student Athletes

As a Downey High School student athlete you are required to represent, uphold, and practice the principles of Victory with Honor. This program is based on the “Six Pillars of Character” of the Character Counts Program that is practiced district wide. As part of a Viking athletic team you will be required to maintain a minimum G.P.A of 2.0 and be looked as a model of student discipline. You will be asked to participate in fundraising efforts on campus and in the local community. The effort of the coaches is to instill and nurture the concepts of responsibility, discipline and teamwork in each student athlete.

Boys’ Athletics

Sport Coach E-mail EXT
Basketball Larry Shelton lashelton@dusd.net 5445
Baseball Jess Gonzalez jgonzalez@dusd.net 5367
Cross Country Robert Gleason rgleason@dusd.net 5431
Golf Jason Bean jabean@dusd.net 5333
Lacrosse
Soccer Marvin Mires mmires@dusd.net 5496
Swimming Shaun Delhousay sdelhousay@dusd.net 5479
Track & Field Robert Gleason rgleason@dusd.net 5431
Tennis Byung Park bpark@dusd.net 5450
Volleyball Bob McCarthy rmccarthy@dusd.net 5553
Waterpolo Uriel Villa Uvilla@dusd.net 5356
Wrestling Kyle Acevedo kacevedo@dusd.net

Girls’ Athletics

Sport Coach E-mail EXT
Basketball Nate Harris nharris@dusd.net 5464
Cross Country Robert Gleason rgleason@dusd.net 5431
Golf Jason Bean jabean@dusd.net 5333
Lacrosse Marvin Mires mmires@dusd.net 5496
Softball Ed Garcia  edgarcia@dusd.net
Soccer Javier Aguiniga Campos  jaguinigacampos@dusd.net 5360
Swimming Sal Castro scastro@dusd.net 5377
Track & Field Amy Overgaauw aovergaauw@dusd.net 5424
Tennis Denise Diego ddiego@dusd.net 5559
Volleyball Bob McCarthy rmccarthy@dusd.net 5553
Waterpolo Uriel Villa  uvilla@dusd.net
Wrestling Roger Rios rrios@dusd.net 5422

Co-Ed Athletics

Sport Coach E-mail EXT
Football Jack Williams jwilliams@dusd.net 5323
Cheerleading Ashley Rauls arauls@dusd.net 5518

Download a copy of the 2014-2015 Competitive Athletics form EC 221.9

Download a copy of the 2015-2016 Competitive Athletics form EC221.9

Download a copy of the 2016-2017 Competitive Athletics form EC221.9

Athlete Eligibility

  • 2.0 Grade Point Average
  • ASB Card
  • Physical Exam required for athletic participation
  • Insurance Coverage Required (available for purchase through school)
  • CIF Code of Ethics Form

League Representation

Our athletic programs are part of the San Gabriel Valley  League which consists of the following six schools:

  • Downey High School Vikings
  • Dominguez High School Dons
  • Gahr High School Gladiators
  • Lynwood High School Knights
  • Paramount High School Pirates
  • Warren High School Bears

NCAA Division I Academic Eligibility

  • 4 years of English
  • 3 years of Math (Algebra I or higher)
  • 2 years of Natural / Physical Science (1 year of lab if offered)
  • 1 year additional English, Math, or Natural / Physical Science
  • 2 years of Social Science
  • 4 years of additional courses (From any area above, foreign  language, or non-doctrinal religion/philosophy)

For information visit the NCAA Website

Community Involvement

Many of our student athletes participate in community events  encouraged and organized by their coaches. A few examples of this are:

  • Girls’ Softball – Christmas Visit to Miller’s Children Hospital
  • Girls’ Basketball – Basketball Clinic at Imperial Elementary School
  • Girls’ Volleyball – Susan G  Komen for the Cure
  • Boys’ Volleyball – Adopt a Street Program City of Downey

Tryout Times

The following sports are offered during the Fall Season,  from the months of August through November. Their tryout period begins during  the summer preceding the school year. For more specific dates and times  regarding tryout opportunities please contact the coach of the sport you are  interested in.

  • Girls’ Volleyball
  • Football
  • Cross Country (Boys’ and Girls’)
  • Girls’ Tennis
  • Boys’ Waterpolo

The winter and spring sports tryouts are based on facility  availability and are typically held in the first four weeks of the school year.  These tryout opportunities are subject to change and it is best to contact the  coach of the sport that you are interested in.

Summer Programs

  • Baseball
  • Boys’ Basketball
  • Boys’ Cross Country
  • Football
  • Lacrosse
  • Girls’ Basketball
  • Girls’ Cross Country
  • Girls’ Tennis
  • Girls’ Volleyball